Sunlit Water

October 31, 2014

Rainy, Though

Filed under: Culture,Personal — by teofilo @ 9:24 pm

This week I went to Sitka for work. I’ve been wanting to go there ever since I read The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon, which takes place in an alternate-reality Sitka inhabited by Jews displaced from all over the world. I liked the book but had some reservations about it, due partly to its implicit political message and partly to the fact that I’m just not that into gritty detective stories. Anyway, as I had expected, the real Sitka is a very pleasant little town and not gritty at all.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

