Sunlit Water

December 31, 2012

A Year Of Northern Cities

Filed under: Personal,Urban Living — by teofilo @ 11:04 pm

For the past few years I’ve done a post on New Year’s Eve listing the cities I visited in that year. Here’s this year’s list:

  • Anchorage, AK
  • Philadelphia, PA
  • Highland Park, NJ
  • Homer, AK
  • Barrow, AK
  • Seward, AK
  • Fairbanks, AK
  • Port Alsworth, AK

As in previous years, this only includes cities where I spent at least one night, and includes small towns but excludes truly rural areas. The overnight requirement is particularly unfortunate this year, since some of the most interesting places I’ve gone to in Alaska have been on day trips, but I’d like to keep the methodology consistent with earlier years. As the list shows I didn’t travel very much this year, and in fact spent the overwhelming majority of my time in Anchorage. With my new job I should be traveling a lot more in the future, though.

This was a good year. Finding a job that I like in a place where I can see myself settling down for the long term has put me in a position of stability unlike anything I’ve experienced before in my adult life. I’m still kind of adjusting to this, but it’s definitely a huge relief after the twists and turns of the past few years.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

