Sunlit Water

May 17, 2012

Flickr

Filed under: Blogs,Culture,Personal — by teofilo @ 10:27 pm

Via Chris Bertram at Crooked Timber, this interesting Gizmodo piece describes the problems with Yahoo’s acquisition of Flickr. I’ve been on Flickr for quite a few years now, though it was already owned by Yahoo when I signed up in 2006 so I can’t really say anything from experience about the initial transition. I definitely haven’t been using it much recently, certainly much less than I used to, with Facebook filling the role it used to play for me in most respects. I was never all that involved in the social aspects of the site except as they overlapped with blog stuff, so I haven’t noticed the steep decline in social use that Gizmodo describes, but I don’t doubt that it reflects a real shift to other platforms like Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. It’s interesting to see how these sites rise and fall. I sure wouldn’t want to have to predict what will happen to any of them a few years out.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

