Sunlit Water

December 31, 2010

The Year Of Few Cities

Filed under: Job Search,Personal,Urban Living — by teofilo @ 3:20 pm

I didn’t travel much this year, compared to the past two, but here’s my annual list of cities I stayed in overnight:

  • Albuquerque, NM
  • Highland Park, NJ
  • New York, NY
  • Philadelphia, PA

I keep thinking I must be forgetting something, but I’m pretty sure those are the only cities I’ve stayed in.  School’s been taking up a lot of my time.

In other news, I’m finally going on Birthright next week.  I’m getting close to the age limit, and my mom’s been strongly encouraging me to do it, so I figured while I’m in school and have this convenient break I should just do it.  I remain skeptical about Zionism and I doubt the trip will change that, but I’m currently rationalizing my choice to go by saying that I don’t agree with the Zionists’ ideology but I’m willing to take their money.  In any case, I think it’ll be fun.  The trip leaves on this coming Sunday.  Since it’s right in the middle of my break, I didn’t go back to New Mexico but was here in New Jersey for the break so far.  It was a nice, restful vacation, and we got a big snowstorm which added some excitement and snow.

Overall, 2010 was a very good year for me.  I feel like I’ve developed much more of a sense of what I want to do (and, perhaps more importantly, what I don’t want to do) with this degree once I get it.  I’ll start applying for jobs in January, since I really want to have something lined up before I graduate in May.  Right now I’m mostly looking at federal jobs, and maybe private-sector environmental planning stuff.  Geographically I’ll be looking all over the country, partly because while I know I’m tired of living right where I do now I’m not quite sure what I would most prefer instead (and also to keep my options open, of course).  Sometimes I think I would prefer to live in a bigger city, on the east coast or elsewhere.  Other times I think I would prefer to go back west or somewhere else entirely.  So I’m mostly just leaving it up to chance and following the jobs wherever they lead.  Other aspects of my life are also very positive, and I’m much happier and more confident than I have been at some points in the recent past.  So yeah, things are pretty good for me right now.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

