Sunlit Water

January 23, 2010

The Real Stuff

Filed under: Academia,Personal,Planning — by teofilo @ 10:46 pm

Last week was the first week of classes of the semester.  I’m very happy with the classes I’m taking.  The ones I took last semester were mostly basic background stuff, and those that weren’t were pretty theoretical.  I enjoyed those classes, and I feel like I got the opportunity to think about a lot of important issues, but I don’t feel like I learned a whole lot of practical things that I hadn’t known before.  This semester, though, all of my classes are mainly about teaching practical, useful stuff, though in different ways.  I’m particularly excited about finally taking a GIS class, since that’s a skill I really think I should have, both for its practical value and because it’s the sort of thing that I think would be really interesting to me.  I’m also taking some classes on the planning process, which will finally give me a real sense, I hope, of how this all actually works in the real world and where I can see myself in it.  It’s been a bit awkward so far to be getting a graduate degree in planning without having a sense of what I actually want to do with that degree.  Hopefully I’ll have a much better idea after this semester.  All these classes will involve a ton of work, of course, so I’ll be very busy, but I think it’ll be worth it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

