Sunlit Water

November 5, 2009

Conference

Filed under: Personal,Planning — by teofilo @ 8:29 pm

Unlike many of the state chapters of the American Planning Association, which move their annual meetings to different locations around the state from year to year, the New Jersey chapter always holds its annual conference in the same location: the New Brunswick Hyatt.  The Bloustein school, which is the only planning school in the state, has close ties to the state APA chapter, and cooperates closely on organizing the conference.  Part of this is that Bloustein grad students volunteer to staff the conference and as a result get free admission, which is a really good deal because the conference is quite expensive.

That’s all a buildup to the fact that I volunteered to help staff the conference this year.  I helped with the initial setting up this afternoon and staffed the registration table for a while.  I was kind of nervous about doing it, but I’m glad I did.  I got to know some of my fellow students better, met a lot of people attending the conference (though only briefly, as I checked them in), and generally began to ease my way into this social and professional network.  There were some panels today, which I couldn’t go to because I was working the desk, but I’m not scheduled to do anything tomorrow so I’m going to go to some of the panels instead.  It should be interesting.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

