Sunlit Water

February 23, 2009

Day Six

Filed under: Personal — by teofilo @ 8:57 pm

I spent most of the morning in Cortez, then headed north to the Anasazi Heritage Center in Dolores, which is an excellent museum at the site of McPhee Reservoir.  It contains all the material collected during the Dolores Archaeological Project, which conducted salvage archaeology in advance of the construction of the reservoir, and there’s a ton of stuff to see there.  Above the museum is a Chacoan great house called Escalante Pueblo, which is also very interesting.

From the museum I went northwest to Lowry Pueblo, another Chacoan great house and part of Canyons of the Ancient National Monument.  It has one of the very few excavated great kivas anywhere, and it is interesting to compare it to the better-known ones at Chaco and Aztec.

From Lowry I headed southwest into Utah, and stopped at Hovenweep National Monument.  I only had time to do the two-mile trail right behind the visitor center, but that was plenty.  This was something of a last-minute addition to the trip, but it was definitely worth it.

From Hovenweep I headed northwest to Blanding, Utah, which is where I am now.  I’ll spend the night here then see some more stuff tomorrow.

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds great. (And that was a good fake towards Mesa Verde, had me fooled.) I know you are doing more of the Archeology than the scenery, but assuming you head west on 95 (a spectacular drive in its own right) at some point, I really recommend a side trip down Utah 261 to see Muley Point (it is off a dirt road to the right at the top of the Moki Dugway. One of the best panoramic views I have ever seen (and you can also see the San Juan Goosenecks). And if you go down the Dugway (here is the Youtube I linked of a semi going down it over at Unfogged recently. I think the road to Muley Point is the dirt road off to the right you see near the start, don’t know if it becomes impassable in winter. the view from the top of the Dugway is somewhat the same if it does}, in just a few miles you can pick up the drive through Garden of the Gods and a more close-up view of the Goosenecks. Don’t know if they are open in Winter, but the Recapture Lodge in Bluff is a neat little motel (but I suspect that might have been more relevant advice yesterday).

    Comment by JP Stormcrow — February 24, 2009 @ 5:17 am |Reply

  2. I went west on 95 today, but I didn’t head off toward Muley Point or the Dugway. I remember going up the Dugway with my family once when we headed up this way. I noticed that my dad was driving considerably faster than the very low speed limit, and when I mentioned it he said that he needed to maintain the momentum to get to the top. Made sense to me. It’s an interesting place, to be sure, but not on the itinerary for this trip.

    Mesa Verde gets all the attention, but there’s actually very little open there in the winter. I considered it for this trip, but decided it wasn’t worth it.

    Comment by teofilo — February 24, 2009 @ 10:16 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

