Sunlit Water

January 15, 2009

Gradual Productivity

Filed under: Blogs,Personal — by teofilo @ 11:13 pm

So the new blog has been progressing nicely, but slowly.  For a while I was having difficulty motivating myself to work on it, but I’ve just in the past couple of days realized that the best way to do that is to make myself do something on it, even if it’s just something little like expanding the blogroll, every day.  I’ve found that I can most easily get myself to do things by making them part of my daily routine.  Anything on a longer schedule (weekly, say, or monthly) I tend to either forget or obsess over so much that I keep putting it off and eventually either skip it or do a half-assed job.  The way I want to do the blog is particularly vulnerable to this sort of thing, because the posts are really long and complicated and take a long time to write, so long that it’s often not possible to do a whole post in one sitting.  Just working on them little by little each day, though, makes the whole thing a lot more manageable.

1 Comment »

  1. Two conflicting adages strike me –

    1. When eating an elephant it is better to take one small bite at a time.

    2. When leaping across the Grand Canyon it is better to take one big step than to take many small steps.

    Gambler’s House = elephant or Grand Canyon….or elephant in Grand Canyon.

    You will do that which suits you and we will enjoy.

    Comment by joeguy — January 16, 2009 @ 4:23 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

