Sunlit Water

December 23, 2008

Maternal Wisdom

Filed under: Dating,Personal — by teofilo @ 3:47 pm

I’m in Albuquerque, visiting my family and preparing to go up to Santa Fe tomorrow for Christmas.  I got in late last night (it took forever to get here thanks to the weather) and talked to my mom a bit about the breakup and such.  She had some things to say about it that helped me to clarify how I feel and what I think was going on.  The way she put it was that the problem was that I met a wonderful person too early.  I think that’s right.  We’re just in very different places in our lives right now, and as a result our attitudes toward the relationship were different in a way that was not ultimately sustainable.  Another way to think of it, as my mom also put it, is that she’s 25 going on 30 while I’m 24 going on 18.  Although the actual age difference is very small, the differences in background and experience are a lot bigger, and that was ultimately the problem.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

