Sunlit Water

December 10, 2008

Accomplishment

Filed under: Blogs,Personal — by teofilo @ 4:57 pm

I just finished work on 1692 in America.  Posts will continue to roll out for the rest of the year, but they’re all written.  I may go back later to spruce things up and/or add some additional content, but for now the thing is done.  Some thoughts:

  • That was kind of a lot of work.
  • Though I wasn’t quite able to include everything I wanted to, due to a lack of time and motivation, I think I included enough.  There was no chance that I was going to be able to cover everything in my sources, and while I didn’t end up covering quite as much as I intended, I think it still works as a whole.
  • There was a lot of interesting stuff going on in 1692.  Since I’ve been toiling on the details of each day, I haven’t really had a chance to step back and look at the overall arc of each story, but there seem to be some noteworthy patterns to what happened when.  I haven’t had a chance to look carefully at the synchronicities either, but that’s another thing that would probably reward detailed study.
  • Luckily, thanks to the miracle of blogging, all the data is now up there and anyone who wants to can look at it and find whatever information they like.  I’ve already noticed that most of the google searches that land there are for bits of information that are not easy to find elsewhere online.  I don’t know why exactly people are searching for this stuff, but I’m glad I can help them.
  • Despite the amount of work this was, I’m glad I did it.  It was a useful experience for me to look very closely and carefully at a small and rather arbitrary slice of history, and I feel quite a sense of accomplishment at having followed through on my rather ambitious plan for this project.

Anyway, the thing is there, and it’s not going away, so enjoy it however you like.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

