Sunlit Water

January 9, 2008

Resources

Filed under: Job Search,Nature,Personal,Politics — by teofilo @ 9:27 pm

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what my next step is; while I like the job I  have now, I’ve reached the point where it’s not going to get any more interesting or challenging, and I really would like to get out of Albuquerque at some point.  I’m thinking more and more that I’ll probably be applying to grad schools in urban planning next year (for enrollment the following year), but in the meantime I’d like to find a job that’s a little more relevant to that than my current one, not least to see what it’s really like to work in that general field.  Luckily, my administrative experience seems to be a useful asset in finding administrative jobs, and just about every organization needs someone to do the administrative work.  While public sector organizations and local governments are the obvious place to look for jobs related to planning specifically (since that’s where most planning in this country is done), I’m also looking a bit further afield at places like engineering firms and environmental consultancies.  The thing about private sector jobs like these is that there seem to be a lot of them, and they probably mostly pay better than government work.

I’ve found some good websites that list jobs in these general areas, and I figured I’d share them.  Green Dream Jobs is a good site for current openings in a variety of environmental organizations, particularly nonprofits, and has a very useful search function.  EcoEmploy is an amazingly comprehensive list of organizations, including environmentally oriented companies and nonprofits but also governments and law firms, organized both alphabetically and geographically.  It doesn’t have much in the way of easily accessible current listings, but the number of places it lists where one might look for jobs directly is vast.  The site looks pretty basic, but there’s a ton of useful stuff there.

Hopefully I’ll be able to find a job a little more in line with my interests and future plans using sites like these.  Honestly, I’m kind of amazed at how much is out there if you just know where to look.

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks, that’s useful. I knew about Green Dreams but not EcoEmploy. I sent it to a friend who is jobhunting in that field.

    Comment by Witt — January 10, 2008 @ 7:02 pm |Reply

  2. OT: If you haven’t seen it, I have some advice about the waitress thing at the end of the ‘matchmaker’ thread on UF.

    Comment by the Other Paul — January 14, 2008 @ 3:38 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

