Sunlit Water

January 5, 2007

May-December Redux

Filed under: Personal — by teofilo @ 9:24 pm

I’ve been thinking over my issues with significant age differences in relationships, and I think the root of all this (leaving aside environmental influences when I was growing up) is that I’m just really afraid of emotional manipulation and want to minimize it wherever possible.  Obviously age difference isn’t the only contributing factor to manipulation, but the correlation seems pretty strong and it’s as good a proxy as any, so I’ve generally avoided entering into relationships with large age differences just to be safe.  Now that I’m aware that this is probably what’s going on, I should start looking at such relationships on more of a case-by-case basis.

(This is all highly theoretical, of course, and has little practical relevance to my life right now.)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

